Just Workin’ On My Fitness

Now that I’ve put myself firmly back in the mindset of eating better–it’s obviously still a process, but we’re getting there, people–I’ve decided tomorrow (Tuesday) is the day to get that gym membership back up and running (ugh times twelve). I’ve been telling myself that I can’t afford it, but come on. Maybe don’t buy a few coffees at Starbucks, or the completely adorable shirt at the Gap and get yo’ butt back in the gym! Again, it’s all about shifting priorities.

I’m the kind of the person who, when I start doing something, wants instant gratification. I want results, and I want them now. To that end, today I decided I am going to start training for a 5K. For some ridiculous reason, I want to become a runner. But I’ve never been a runner.  Not even when I was in shape and young and athletic and in sports. So this should be fun…or at least make for some funny stories. My brother and I have been talking about running a 5K for a couple of years. I’m also taking my now-yearly spring break trip to Texas with my mama, cousin and aunts, and they’ve decided we’re all going to walk a 5K race while we’re down there. So I definitely have some motivation!

My friend, Lydia, has been doing the Couch-to-5K plan and really likes it, so I’m going to go with it and see what happens. Basically you do these workouts three times per week, they take 20 minutes, and in nine weeks you’re are running three miles. Consecutively. Day one looks like this:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

Sounds simple enough, right? Big ol’ me is terrified of running on the treadmill, but I’m just going to crank up the iPod and go for it. Go big or go home.

Leave a Reply

