PB2, I Love You!

First, the good news. Roughly two weeks in and I’ve lost 11 pounds! Yay me! And that’s mostly just from eating right with a minimal amount of actual exercise. The bad news is that I didn’t go to the gym once this week. As I mentioned, I had planned to get back into it and start doing the Couch-to-5K thing. But (and here come the excuses) this week was crazy. Work was brutal and unbearable (as usual), my bestie/co-worker quit and had her last day yesterday, and I’ve been pms-ing like it’s going out of style (overshare?).  So it’s been an exhausting, emotional week. Add to that the fact that LA Fitness is the world’s worst gym and pain in the butt to deal with (long, boring story), and I ended up with a mopey week on the couch.

One of the healthy highlights of my week, though, was the discovery of the Linden Hills Co-op. Linden Hills is a neighborhood in Minneapolis, and the co-op recently moved to a gorgeous new location in the unnecessarily tony suburb of Edina. The co-op is essentially a rich, white housewives’ version of Whole Foods.  The difference between it and Whole Foods, though, is that they carry my new obsession–PB2.  Have you guys heard about this stuff? It’s a super healthy powdered version of peanut butter and is all the rage among food bloggers.

Mmmm...yummy!

My love of peanut butter knows no bounds. But the dang stuff as I typically buy it has around 200 calories and 16 grams of fat (not to mention tons o’ sugar) per 2 tbsp. serving. PB2, on the other hand, has a measly 45 calories, 1.5 grams of fat, and 1 gram of sugar for the same amount. It also has only three ingredients (roasted peanuts, salt and sugar) and is big on supporting the American farmer. So by eating it, you’re actually, like, doing good for you and the world!

The finished product

Weekends are the only days where I have time to make a real breakfast as opposed to grabbing a banana or greek yogurt on my way out the doors. So this morning, Saturday, I mixed up 2 tbsp. of the powder with 1 tbsp. water and slathered the concoction on my morning toast. I kid you not, you cannot tell the difference between PB2 and the real stuff! It is so good. Another added benefit? Built in portion control! Again, 2 tbsp. of the powder is a serving size, so if that’s all you mix up, that’s all you eat. Not always the case with my jar of Skippy.

Bottom line–I’m done buying grocery store peanut butter. I can’t wait to start cooking with this stuff and making healthier versions of all my favorite little treats!

2 thoughts on “PB2, I Love You!

  1. Oh wow, I saw this on someone else’s blog! I’ve never heard of this powdered peanut butter until today! What exactly are the health benefits of this stuff?

    • Kat, it is seriously so good! The appeal of it for me is definitely the lack of calories, sugar, and fat, but also the fact that it only has three ingredients: peanuts, sugar, and salt. No artificial ingredients, oils, etc. Give it a try, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

