There’s A Pattern Here…

Sorry for the lacking posting lately, my maybe three readers who aren’t my mom. I don’t think I’ve felt this stressed since college! As I mentioned last week, I’m juggling a lot right now. More than I have in awhile. My life has been so flat and small, and I’ve been so complacent over the past few years, that I’ve forgot how stressful life can be. Most of it I’m actually enjoying, though. I really do love being busy–I get to make to-do lists and then cross off items on said lists! Anyway, between trying to reignite my social life, dealing with the usual BS at work (including hiring a new co-worker whose job I’m currently doing in addition to mine), working out, and prepping like cra-cra for seemingly endless job interviews, I’ve been a bit busy.

The good news is, though, I’ve lost another 3 lbs! I’m at 4.5% overall in about four weeks. I’ve been kinda (VERY!) stagnant for a few weeks, which is a huge bummer, but I’m hoping increased activity and kicking my butt in the gym will jump start things. To that end, I bought a stationary bike! It’s just a small, inexpensive thing, but I’ve been wanting one for awhile. Now, instead of watching tv at night, I’m going to watch tv and bike! And I’m also starting to get up super early in the am (read: 5:00am) to get in a quick workout before I head off to hell for the day.

Tonight, to celebrate maintaining my sanity for another day, and to keep myself out of the candy dishes at work, I’m whipping up some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and savoring every drop of a few drops of my fave red wine, Malbec.



The applesauce and cinnamon adds a barely noticeable but really great, warm flavor, and work surprisingly well with the semi-sweet chocolate chips. Less than 150 calories and 2 grams of fat for two of these babies!



Money’s been a bit tight lately (purchasing new outfits for job interviews gets expensive, yo!), but payday is Wednesday and I’m already making a list of all the delicious fresh produce and healthy stuff I’ll finally get to stock up on. And then I can make something besides cookies to post on here! I’ll also be adding a new recipe page (courtesy of Recipage), so watch for that!

Here’s the cookie recipe:
Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
Courtesy: Skinny Taste

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg (I use 1/4 cup egg substitute–healthier!)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°; line two baking sheets with parchment paper or use a silpat. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a large bowl, with a mixer, cream together the butter and the sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, followed by the applesauce and vanilla extract. Stir in the flour mixture and the oats until just combined; stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of the dough onto baking sheets, flattening each cookie slightly. Bake for about 10-12 minutes, or until cookies become light brown at the edges (I baked mine for 8 1/2 minutes). Let cool on baking sheet for 3 or 4 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes about 30 cookies roughly 1 tbsp each.

******
P.S. is it possible that my palate is already changing? Like, I brought a few chocolate chips for a lunch treat today and could only eat four because the sweetness was too intense. My favorite wine tastes a bit bitter tonight, and the low-sodium chicken stock I used for dinner last night was too salty. Foodie friends, is this possible? I would love it if it is! Besides the occasional carb craving, I’ve been very satisfied with what I’ve been eating. So if my palate is now actually changing…great!

Again I ask of my foodie friends: is it possible that my palate is changing after a month or so of pretty drastically different eating?

2 thoughts on “There’s A Pattern Here…

  1. Gosh, I don’t know about taste changing. I’ve never noticed, but I totally believe it could happen. Look at that 4.5%. Incredible already! 5am your effing kidding me. I got up at 4am to hit the bathroom and was so deliriously tired I could hardly find it.

Leave a Reply

