Match Made in Culinary Heaven

In all aspects of my life I am a fan of mixing and matching–friends, trends, and especially food. I love trying new flavors, tweaking my favorite recipes, and getting some very good (and very bad) results. My all-time favorite food combo that I take full credit for? The peanut butter and turkey sandwich. I especially love it with crunchy peanut butter and honey-smoked deli turkey. Hello, protein! I tell everyone about this sandwich, and everyone doubts me…until they try it. Give it a shot and I swear you’ll be hooked!

Until very recently, it never occurred to me to mix it up with my favorite breakfast cereals. Most mornings, breakfast unfortunately consists of a banana and a greek yogurt, or a slice of toast or oatmeal banana bread. But lately, when I take the time to pre-plan my meals for the day, or when I have extra time on the weekends, I am a big fan of the cereal mix.


My current favorite consists of 1/2 C Cheerios (chocolate or the new peanut butter flavor), 1/2 C Kashi Cinnamon Harvest and 1/2 C Silk unsweetened vanilla almond milk (less than 20 calories!). If I’m feeling especially adventurous, I add half a banana and/or a sprinkling of good old Fiber One. These twigs have virtually no flavor, and I’m not necessarily a fan, but they do add good texture to my bowl. So, you get a heaping serving of breakfast that’s chock full of fiber and calcium, you satisfy any sort of sweetness craving, and you do it all for less than 300 calories and 2 grams of fat. It can’t be beat!

What’s your favorite cereal combo?

Leave a Reply

