Cabin Fever

I’ve got it, you guys. It’s bad. I’ve got the cabin fever. Even though we’ve had  zero snow this year here in typically winter-friendly Minnesota, I’m still feeling cooped up and anxious for some sunshine and warm temps. I’m over the dry hair/skin combo, the teasingly and uncharacteristically warm days, pasty pale skin, random snow flurries that never amount to anything (if it’s going to snow, it better snow), and I especially am over my winter wardrobe! I am taking my now annual sojurn down to Austin, Texas with the Mom and other family members in a few weeks, so that will absolutely help break my fever.

But it never fails that right around this time each year, I get to daydreaming about my favorite summery things. Also on the docket this year are a few things from my rewards list that are providing a great deal of weight-loss related inspiration and factoring greatly into my sunshiney fantasies.

In no particular order, the things I love most about summer…

  • Sunshine The warmth of it and, really, getting a little color on my pasty skin.
  • Nature and being outdoors The lakes, biking, hiking, camping, picnics, outdoor concerts, rooftop and patio happy hours, laying in the grass, all of it.
  • Sundresses and tank tops I don’t wear tank tops now, or dresses above the knee. I’m hoping to change both of those by the end of the summer!
  • Country music Something about cranking the tunes and driving around barefoot with the windows down, back in the little country town from whence I came, is just so dang appealing to me.
  • Campfires
  • Iced coffee I became obsessed with cold press coffee last year and bought myself a french press. I mix the brewed coffee with a little simple syrup (boil equal parts sugar and water until the sugar dissolves, cool, add to beverage)–heaven!
  • Sandals After a winter of socks and boots, sandals are a welcome summertime companion.
  • Summer cooking Local produce (melon, string beans, peas straight from the garden, corn on the cob), grilling out, dining al fresco, summer salads. Everything is bright, colorful, and fresh.
  • Twilight
  • Farmer’s Markets The farmer’s market in my part of town is arguably the best and biggest–and one of a very few that require all vendors and products be local. The selection, price, and quality is unbeatable. Nearly every Saturday, I head down with a friend to grab a coffee, do some quality people watching, and pick up fresh produce, swoon-worthy breads, amazing hummus, and gorgeous flowers. I plan to make an effort to do even more of my shopping there this summer.

How do you beat the winter blues? What are you looking forward to this summer?

One thought on “Cabin Fever

Leave a Reply

