An Oscar for Deliciousness

As promised, here’s a more upbeat post to start the week off right 🙂

After bailing on my friend this weekend and hoping she’d understand my reasoning (see below), she suggested we hang out Sunday and judge watch the fashions on the Oscar red carpet. S0 I woke up a bit early, hit the gym hard for an hour, then spent the rest of the morning/afternoon cleaning up my mess of an apartment (more calories burned!). By the time my friend made it over, I was exhausted. Which was good, because she, too, was a bit–ahem–tired. After lazing around for awhile, we ventured into the windy, gray afternoon and walked to my new favorite frozen yogurt shop.

I got about a 1/2 cup each (100 calories, no fat) of vanilla and glazed donut (what?!) and topped it off with a surprisingly delicious sprinkling of strawberries, bananas, and then a few sprinkles and mini-peanut butter cups (just a few, promise!). We’re both trying to be healthier, so we spent a fair amount of time analyzing the calorie content of our selections. In the end, my yogurt splurge was right around 400 calories and fit nicely into my daily calorie allowance.

Nom nom nom

For dinner, I had planned to make a pot of soup, but since I’m really trying to watch my sodium intake and eat super basic food for the next few weeks, I nixed that plan. Instead, I reheated a leftover chicken breast and a cup of brown rice. After cooking up a bit of my new favorite lemon sauce and adding it to the mix, dinner was served!
Lemon Sauce
Yields 1 C (4 servings)

Ingredients:
2/3 C low-sodium chicken stock
1/4 C fresh lemon juice
1/4 C sugar
zest of 1/2 lemon
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1 Tbsp cold water
salt and pepper to taste

  • Mix cornstarch and water together in small bowl and set aside.
  • In a small saucepan, bring chicken stock to a boil. Add lemon juice, sugar, and zest.
  • Return mixture to a boil, letting it cook until sugar dissolves.
  • Slowly stir in cornstarch mixture and let sauce cook until thickened, stirring frequently and adjusting seasoning as necessary.

What are your favorite froyo toppings?

Leave a Reply

