Berry Good Sunday

As this post title says, today was a very good day (aren’t I clever? Ha!). The sun was shining, things got checked off the to-do list, and I got a great workout in this am. I mean, I’m in a bit of pain right now, and I’m exhausted, but it’s a good pain and a good kind of exhaustion.

Sunday mornings my favorite spin instructor teaches a kick ass 9am class. She’s positive and high energy, in a non-horrible way, and plays great music–a huge plus. Today’s mix was old school vs. new school, so we pedaled through Ray Charles, The Ting-Tings, Bruno Mars, Miles Davis, and even some old, old Whitney. The Whitney song, which made me think of my Mama (she always sang it in the car), was an odd choice, but kinda awesome at the same time. I may have even teared up a bit 🙂

For me, the class was also a bit of a study in how to be a hot mess. Here’s what happened:
1. I felt like I was going to barf throughout the entire class, thanks to the breakfast (2 Van’s lite waffles, banana, coffee) I stupidly consumed less than an hour beforehand. Not sure what I was thinking there…
2. I spilled my entire water bottle about 5 minutes into class. Which is bad enough. But then I had to mop it up with my towel, so I had no towel for the remainder of class. And I sweat a lot.
3. I was wearing a new dark gray t-shirt which, unbeknownst to me at the time, was leaving little gray fuzzies all. Over. Me. It looked like I had chest hair.
4. A cute boy sat next to me. In spin class. Where I sweat like a you-know-what in church. Lovely.


I left class feeling pretty great, though, came home and whipped up a smoothie–1 cup each of baby spinach, frozen mixed berries (blackberries, strawberries, blueberries), a frozen banana, 1 1/2 cups of water. Super simple, super yummy. Or was it berry yummy…haha there I go again, being so incredibly witty. You’re welcome, readers!

Have a happy rest of your Sunday, folks! I’m off to watch me some Real Housewives drams. Yay!

What’s your favorite snack before/after an intense workout?

2 thoughts on “Berry Good Sunday

Leave a Reply

