Pizza! Pizza!

This is kind of a big week for me. On Thursday, I leave for Texas for a week long, much needed vacay. Before that, though, I get to celebrate my last day at my current job! I couldn’t be more excited!


But since I am leaving for Texas this week, I’m trying to use up all the leftovers in my fridge before I go. So, looking in the fridge for dinner last night, I unearthed mushrooms, spinach, and ground turkey. Since I’m always craving bread (who isn’t?), I decided pizza would be a good way to meet all my needs.


While the prepackaged, just-add-water dough (probably not a great decision health-wise) was rising, I sauteed the mushrooms and wilted the spinach in a pan with a little salt (to sweat the mushrooms) and just a mist of non-stick cooking spray. After rolling out the dough on a baking sheet, I topped it with a bit of dried garlic, Italian seasoning, a little leftover tomato sauce, the mushroom and spinach mixture, some ground turkey and a teeny bit of reduced-fat mozzarella.


Spinach, Mushroom, & Turkey Pizza

Yields 12 pieces

Ingredients
1 pizza dough
Non-stick cooking spray
1/4 tsp dried garlic
1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
1 1/2 C mushrooms of choice
1 C spinach
3/4 C ground turkey, cooked
1/2 C pizza sauce
1/2 C mozzarella cheese

  • Mix dough, if necessary, and work in dried garlic and Italian seasoning. Set aside to rise.
  • Coat a medium sauce pan with non-stick cooking spray. Saute mushrooms and spinach over medium-low heat for approx. 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • On a baking sheet, roll out dough and sprinkle to taste with dried garlic and Italian seasoning.
  • Coat dough with sauce, add mushroom and spinach mixture, ground turkey, and cheese.
  • Bake at 375° F for 8-11 minutes, or until crust is cooked through and slightly brown on the edges.
  • Remove from the oven and let cool for a minute before slicing.

Anyone have a great healthy homemade pizza dough recipe? What are your favorite pizza toppings?

One thought on “Pizza! Pizza!

  1. I got what you mean , thankyou for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “I would rather be a coward than brave because people hurt you when you are brave.” by E. M. Forster.

Leave a Reply

