Welcome Back, Me!

Hiya everybody! It’s me! I’m back! Finally!

Apologies for the two-ish week absence. Between leaving my old job (finally!), road trippin’ to Texas (Spring Break ’12–woo hoo!), and starting a huge, new, amazing job last week, I have been exhausted in every sense of the word. I was burned out and really just needed a 100% complete break from life. Which I took. And now I’m ready to just kill it.

I’ll be sharing more photos and such from my awesome trip to the land of George Bush and Tex-Mex (my least fav and fav thing in one state), but tonight, in the vein of my recent post about regaining focus, I want to share my plan to really kick this weight loss bullshiz into high(er) gear. Here we go!

Ok, so I did a lot of math-y stuff today trying to figure out what is a feasible amount of weight for me to lose by my birthday in September–I even called my soon-to-be-accountant brother for a little help. I decided that by the time I blow out 28 candles on my vegan sugar-free cake, I’d like to be at a total of 100 pounds lost. So another 60 or so pounds. There are about 25 weeks until my birthday, which averages out to about 2.4 pounds/week. Since I started this challenge, I’ve lost at an average of 3.1 pounds/week. And as I’ve clearly documented here, I haven’t been as consistent as I could have been. So even given plateaus, and scheduling, and maybe the occasional slight slip-up, I think it’s totally doable! And it’s basically summer here in Minny, which brings loads of fresh produce, a healthy blogging challenge with my bestie (more on that later!), more opportunities to be active, more daylight, more sweet, sweet, sweat and basically just more awesomeness.

1. Take a look at my goals page. I’ve got some new ones and they’re goodies. Here’s one of ’em:
2. I’m signing up for my first 5K. I had planned to do the Color Run (which I am definitely doing next year!), but it filled up before I could register. So, I happened upon a tweet from one of my fave bloggers, Lindsay over at Lean Green Bean, who mentioned the Dirty Girl Run. It’s a mud run but only for chicks. And it looks badass. And me and the girls are totes doing it.

3. I’m going to be meticulously tracking my food. Obsessive may be a better word for it. It needs to be that way for awhile. PS I love myfitnesspal.com. It is such a great app/website for tracking calories, measuring progress, and connecting with others losing weight. Oh, and you can follow me on there, if you’re so inclined. I’m at MandaKayMakesIt, natch 🙂

4. Inspired by those Friday night lights down in Texas (lord, I miss that show…and my vaction), I’m implementing two-a-day workouts. That means I work out in the morning and then again at night. 6-7 days a week. No excuses, no more bullshit, no more days off because I don’t have time or want to watch reruns of The Hills (LC, come back!).

Here it is:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday
AM – run (once it’s light enough outside) or 7 miles on the bike
PM – cardio and weights at the gym, then home for planks/abs and more bike

Tuesday, Thursday
AM – spin class
PM – 5 miles on the bike, planks/abs and free weight circuits

Saturday, Sunday
AM – spin or yoga
PM – 5-10 miles on the bike, planks/abs and free weight circuits

Every month I’ll be reevaluating and switching things up so I don’t get bored or burned out.


So there you have it. Back to life, back to reality, back on my grind!

2 thoughts on “Welcome Back, Me!

  1. Pingback: Wanna Be My Pal? « Manda Kay Makes It

Leave a Reply

