Too Much, Too Soon?

“One of the secrets of success is to refuse to let temporary setbacks defeat us.”

Yesterday was what, I believe, most would label as unsuccessful.

I’m lacking consistency these days. Despite massive water drinking and detoxifying food eating and actual hardcore working out, my weight has plateaued. I can’t push through whatever mental barrier it is that’s keeping me from working out consistently. I don’t prepare myself for success as well as I should, I don’t go to sleep early enough, thus causing me to be too tired to get up and work out in the morning. I plan more than I take action.

So yesterday I had a sort of breakdown about all this. I’ll spare you the crazy cat lady behaviors, but let’s just say it involved hyperventilating and compulsive list making. Oh, and some binge eating. I mean, it was mostly healthy food binging, but binging it was nonetheless. And I didn’t work out at all. So it’s back to day 1 of my 21 day challenge.

I began wondering if I’ve taken on too much, too soon. Especially after reading this article. But really, what choice do I have? My situation demands that I proceed this way, because, for years now, my life has been too much–too much food, too much sitting around, too much feeling sorry for myself, and too much closing myself off from life.

I’m not quite sure what it is that’s holding me back. I know what I want, I know how to get it, I have everything I need to get it. So what’s the hold up? All I can do, I guess, is keep trying. Seeing relatively small setbacks like this as just that. Not reasons to completely give up and go buy some cats and a muumuu.

I know this time is different. This journey is different. It feels more permanent, it feels more whole, it feels more like a lifestyle change than a diet or wanting to lose weight for superficial reasons. This feels like wanting to be healthy, reclaiming my future, becoming the person I’ve always felt I am inside.

So why do I doubt myself? Why do I get bogged down in the details? Why can’t I channel the Nike marketing Gods and just do it? Why??

This is my Friday: iced coffee and unabomber-esque to-do list scribbles.

It’s Friday, I’ve got myself a gigantic iced coffee and a gigantic to-do list geared towards getting me back on track. Which I plan to do…now.

Got any suggestions on how to just freakin’ do it, dear readers? How do I take all of these good intentions and turn them into good actions?

3 thoughts on “Too Much, Too Soon?

  1. you’re doing it-right this very moment! I only managed to run a few times this week b/c I’ve been so exhausted. I hope next week goes better. Take it one day at a time and it’ll put things more in perspective. Thinking that I can only control what I am doing right here and right now helps me.

  2. ^I agree with the above comment! You are doing it! Getting into a healthy lifestyle takes a lot of time, it’s modifying habits that have been held for many years..there’s bound to be some times when you feel overwhelmed.

    But, the fact that you’re talking about your frustrations and making to-do lists for getting back on the right track. That’s AWESOME! You could just as easily throw in the towel and say “why bother?” but the fact that you’re acknowledging your troubles and making a concerted effort to get back to where you want to be is really saying something! You CAN do it, and you DO have it in you!

    These frustrations are normal, and you’re a strong and driven women for acknowledging them and trying to work through them!

    Good for you! 😀

    I sometimes find that if I have a hard time getting myself to exercise I think to myself, “don’t think, just do.” I know that sounds totally weird and militant and obvious, but it really does work. It makes me stop thinking about the next challenging move in my dvd (I do Jillian Michaels DVDs and a Ballet Beautiful DVD, which makes me feel graceful–a rarity for me!!!) and keep doing whatever is at hand at that exact moment. I’ve found that it helps a lot, so I hope that if you do it, it works for you too!

    Also, you might want to try something like yoga. It’s amazing. I’m suggesting it because it’s a great body workout, but it’s also calming and soothing. I used to do it weekly, but I have back issues and have to take a break 😦 it’s a great workout that makes you feel good inside, relaxed and focused which is good!

    I hope that this helped!

    Just remember, you can do it!!!!! 😀

    • This is amazing–thank you! “Don’t think, just do” is a great little mantra to get on repeat in my head. I’ve been wanting to try yoga for quite some time, but it’s another one of those things where I have to screw up the courage to go do. I’ll get there 🙂

      Thanks again for your kind comments and serious motivation!!

Leave a Reply

