Be Awesome

In honor of this week’s complete and total meltdown, I present this–my latest diy Pinterest-inspired home decor project:

It’s a quote from one of my favorite shows on TV and is now prominently displayed in my dining room as a reminder that whenever things get a bit overwhelming or too negative, I should flip it. Do a 180 and just start being awesome, instead.

So, moving on!

Yesterday consisted of a few of my favorite things–a few hours in the (very early) morning at a work event, shopping, a little crafting and interior decorating, movie night, and, of course, a ton of cooking and baking. Check back throughout the week for some new, very tasty recipes!

Like this one:

Inspired by one of my most favorite healthy blogs, and my love of all things old fashioned/reminiscent of my childhood, I whipped up a batch of these lemon ginger cookies. They’re a moist and healthy new spin on traditional ginger snaps. I’m always a little leery of messing with substitutions for ingredients like butter and oil, but in pursuit of my dreams (losing weight and opening a health-conscious bakery and cafe), I’m giving it a shot. And thankfully (fingers crossed, knock on wood), I haven’t screwed up a recipe yet!

The original recipe called for 1 1/2 sticks of butter, so I subbed out half of the butter for unsweetened applesauce. Because of this, I also upped the amount of flour, and ended up with a fluffier cookie–almost cake-like in texture (which I didn’t mind). Next time I make these (’cause obviously there will be a next time), I may try and reduce the butter even more. I’ve tried similar recipes and only used 2 tablespoons of butter. So feel to mess around with the ratio, if you’d like (and be sure to let me know about it!)

Lemon Ginger Cookies
Yields approx. 30 cookies

Ingredients:
3 C all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
3 tsp ginger, powdered
1 tsp cinnamon
6 Tbsp butter
3/4 C applesauce, unsweetened
1 C brown sugar, firmly packed
1/4 C egg substitute
1/4 C molasses
1 Tbsp lemon zest
1/8 C granulated sugar

  • Preheat oven to 350° and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  • Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cinnamon.
  • In stand mixer or with hand mixer, beat butter, applesauce, brown sugar, and egg substitute until lightly whipped. Add molasses and lemon zest.
  • Slowly fold in dry ingredient mixtures and mix until just combined. If dough seems slightly thin, fold in a bit more flour.
  • Place balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheets and sprinkle generously with the granulated sugar.
  • Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 2 minutes, then move to cooling rack to cool completely.

Have you tried a new spin on an old classic?

Leave a Reply

