Whirlwind Weekend

As I sit here late Sunday night,riveted to the Real Housewives of Atlanta three-part reunion, I’m shocked by how fast this weekend went.

Yesterday was spent sipping several Americano’s as I caught up with a friend and did a bit of window shopping.

We stopped in J. Crew, which I used to love when it fit and now admire from a far, and I was kinda excited to try on a few things and see how close I was to fitting in (literally). I was so excited when both of the dresses I tried on fit! As in, if they didn’t hit above the knee I could have purchased them. There’s definitely nothing more motivating than progress! This is one of them:
The day was rainy and cold, so I hit up the gym for sixty minutes of intervals and near-death on the elliptical (be sure to check out my progress on the 21 Day Challenge!). I felt great–so strong. And then, the migraine of all migraines hit and I was knocked out for the rest of the day. I think the problem was that I didn’t eat enough throughout the day before the gym. Lesson learned!

Today I was freakin’ sore from a week of pushing it physically, so I laid low and did some cleaning and cooking. Tonight’s dinner, which, stupid me, I didn’t take any pictures of, was phenomenal: Mushroom, prosciutto, ricotta, and goat cheese stuffed chicken breasts. Unbelievably yummy and basically guilt free–a little cheese is okay every now and then, right? You gotta switch it up 🙂

I may not have snapped any pictures, but I do have the recipe:

Mushroom, Prosciutto, and Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts
Serves 2

Ingredients:
2 4 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 slices prosciutto
1/2 C mushrooms, chopped and sauteed
1/3 C fat-free ricotta cheese (you can use part-skim or full-fat, if you’re so inclined)
4 oz. goat cheese
Mrs. Dash seasoning

  • Placing the chicken breasts between two pieces of parchment or plastic wrap on a cutting board and pound them to approx. 1/4-1/2 inch thickness. Remove the plastic wrap and place two slices of prosciutto on each piece of chicken
  • Chop mushrooms and saute over medium heat until cooked down.
  • In small bowl, mix the mushrooms with the ricotta and goat cheese until the mixture is well blended.
  • Spread 1/2 of the mixture on each chicken breast, leaving a small border without mixture all the way around.
  • Roll the chicken lengthwise and secure the end with toothpicks, creating a jellyroll shape.
  • Place rolled chicken in baking dish coated with nonstick cooking spray. Sprinkle on Mrs. Dash and place in 375° oven for 30-35 minutes until chicken is cooked through.

Leave a Reply

