Cookie Monster

I don’t know where my cookie obsession comes from. I mean, my dad is a huge cookie monster–it’s a long-running family joke. But it seems that, especially lately, whenever I’m feeling stressed or particularly out of control in any aspect of my life, I lock myself in the kitchen, chug some coffee, crank up some tuneage, and get to healthy cookie makin’. I unleash my own cookie monster, rather than turning into a real monster and screaming at friends and family. But I guess it’s better than my old stress reliever: booze. And cake. Ah, I miss those days…just kidding. Sort of.Ignoring my amateurish-as-always photos (guys, this blog is never going to have photos better than what Instagram can provide–it’s not my goal here), how good do these apple cinnamon chip cookies look, right? My dad, who is my newest recipe taster, certainly enjoyed them 🙂

The best part of these cookies? Only 6 simple ingredients separate you from them. And they’re butterless. Paula Deen would be so ashamed.

Apple Cinnamon Chip Cookies
Inspired by Little Bitty Bakes
Yields 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1 box of spice cake mix
1 C oats
1/4 C egg substitute (or 1 egg)
1 6-ounce container apple cinnamon greek yogurt (as always, I prefer Chobani)
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 C cinnamon chips (optional)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350° and line 2 cookie sheets with parchment.
  • In a large bowl, combine the dry cake mix and oats. Add the egg substitute, yogurt and vanilla and mix until just combined.
  • Stir in cinnamon chips.
  • Drop the dough by rounded tablespoon onto the cookie sheets.
  • Bake 10-12 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool 2-3 minutes before placing cookies on wire cooling racks to cool completely.

At less than 100 calories and 1.5 grams per cookie, these cannot be beat! They also make a great little breakfast, if you’re so inclined 🙂

How do you relieve stress? Got any recipe ideas for me to try out next time I get stressed?


Leave a Reply

