It’s Getting To Be That Time Again…

Y’all know what time it is??

No. Not Tool Time, thanks.

It’s Foodie Pen Pals reveal day! Hooray!

This month’s box was such a treat and from one of my new favorite people, Esther. Esther is a reader and unfortunately doesn’t maintain her blog anymore. But maybe if you all gave her a little encouragement… 🙂

Her box was seriously so thoughtful. The only caveat I gave her in prepping my box was that I’m on a serious health kick, but I still wanted some delicious goodies. Oh boy, did she deliver!

I love that Esther included some homemade goodies–pumpkin chocolate chip cookies! Her recipe was based on one of our mutual fave blogs, A Foodie Stays Fit (she even sent me a copy of the recipe!). I would be lying if I said I didn’t eat 1 (or 2) of these little morsels immediately upon opening the box 🙂 So good!!

I’ve tried other versions of this oatmeal (which, ironically enough, is made here in Minnesota!), and I’ve heard of this dark chocolate flavor. It is so good! Definitely picking some of this up next time I’m at the grocery!

This Kashi bar is the perfect combination of salty and sweet, and the bar itself is huge! I like to nosh on a Kashi bar for my mid-afternoon snack, before I workout. This bar was perfect!

I am in LOVE with these dry roasted edamame!! Words can’t express. A teensy bit of saltiness, but super crunchy and just salty enough that it satisfies the craving that usually leads to massive bloat. Plus they’re loaded with protein!

I have never tried dates before, but I’ve always wanted to. They’re used in a lot of the sweet vegan recipes I see, so I’ve been meaning to check them out. They’re pretty good! Now I can feel a bit more confident incorporating them into some sweet (literally) recipes as another lower-fat, healthy option.

I’ve seen the Vega protein powders and mixes on a bunch of blogs, and have been meaning to try it when the Whole Foods budget will allow. Leave it to Esther to provide! I wasn’t completely sold on this shake–it had a bit of a metallic, chalky aftertaste. But I could see mixing in some yogurt, or adding the powder to a preexisting smoothie recipe, to make it more palatable.

Esther also included some chocolate covered espresso beans, and I have to say, I’m not the biggest fan of them in general. I almost feel bad mentioning it, since Esther specifically mentioned how much she liked them in her note. And it’s weird since I love both chocolate and coffee, probably more than I should. But they went to good use–I passed them off to my friend Emily and her husband 🙂

Esther, thank you again for such a fun and healthy pen pals box! I can’t wait to try your lightened up macaroni and cheese recipe!
______________________________________________________________________________________

You know you want a Foodie Pen Pal, too. To get matched with your new foodie bff, click here to fill out the participation form and read all about it.

You must submit your information by May 4, as pairings will be emailed on May 5! Foodie Pen Pals is a great way to meet other bloggers and readers, and score some goodies you wouldn’t normally try. As always, thanks to Lindsay for organizing!

One thought on “It’s Getting To Be That Time Again…

Leave a Reply

