Juggling Act

Let’s add another piece to the puzzle of this tough and seemingly never ending struggle, shall we?

I’ve mentioned on here that I recently switched jobs. While I’m infinitely happier in my current situation, the financial transition has been a bit difficult. Like many other kids my age, with student loans, credit cards and a rotten economy, I’ve been kind of living paycheck to paycheck with little to no savings to fall back on. So when I switched jobs, and had to go  month without a paycheck, things got a bit bleak (to say the least).

To combat this issue, appease my parentals, and avoid similar situations in the future, I quickly found a part-time job to supplement my income. Like most, the pay sucks and it’s nothing glamorous or exciting. And I don’t want to do it for a number of reasons (see below). But it’s extra money. So…

My problem is this: I’m still struggling with how to balance my new lifestyle with my day-to-day life. If a friend calls and wants to do happy hour after work, what do I do? How do I not gorge myself on cheap appetizers and summery cocktails, now that I don’t eat that way or drink alcohol? When do I get my evening workout in?

If I’m now taking on an optional part time job of 15-30 hours per week, in addition to my 40+ hours per week real job, when am I going to get my workouts in? If at least three days per week I’m working from 8am until 11pm at night, with literally no breaks, how will I prep my lunch for the next day? How will I get up at 5:30am to get my run in?

Right now I have a completely adequate amount of time to do exactly what I need to. With no interruptions. But when I start adding real world situations into my life, I sometimes find myself slipping (not working out, making poor-ish food choices, imbibing with a cocktail or a soda).

I want to need to focus on me and my issues. Every day I need to get in two cardio sessions and a weight/circuit session. I need to plan and prep my meals. I need to get 7-8 hours of sleep. These have to be non-negotiables at this point. Weight loss and getting healthy needs to be my second full-time job, my number priority above all else.

I’m not sure how to sort all of this out. I don’t know how to fix myself, nurture my relationships, and work two exhausting (and kind of but not really necessary) jobs. Is it possible to do it all? I don’t know…I don’t think so. Knowing me, though, the first thing to suffer will be my health. I’ll start to turning to convenience food over healthful options. I won’t work out because I’m too tired, not getting enough sleep, and can’t find time.

What do I do? Does anyone have any suggestions or answers for me?? 🙂 How do you find balance in your life?

4 thoughts on “Juggling Act

  1. So work hours on the weekend plan your meals ahead. Drink water when you are out. Organize yourself and you will get ahead.

  2. It would make things easier if you surround yourself with supportive people who appreciate what you’re doing. Sometimes just knowing someone admires you gives you the push you need to get through. I also reward myself in little ways for making it to the end of the day intact…a square of good chocolate or 10 minutes to read or get fresh air without disturbances from kids (or adults!). I always feel better when I’m super organized but I may have a touch of control freak in me. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jessica. It’s true–surrounding myself with supportive people has been huge! The little confidence boost they provide is incredible. It makes all the difference, especially on bad days. And the organization/control freak thing? Totally me, too! Having my to-do list in front of me provides relief like no other! 🙂

Leave a Reply

