The Big 5-0

If you follow me on Twitter (which, obviously, you should), you may have seen a tweet yesterday that expressed my insane joy at reaching a rather big milestone on this journey: it’s taken a bit longer than anticipated, but this week I finally hit 50. In the approximately five months since mid-January, I’ve lost 50 lbs. or roughly 13% of my starting body weight.

Since we know I’m all about the lists (see earlier this week for a prime example), here are the top 5 things I’ve learned in the past 5 months as I lost 50 pounds:

1. The battle is won beyond the scale.

Seeing the numbers drop on the scale is always a thrill. But the rest of the time, especially when those scale numbers won’t budge, I’ve found myself looking at other positive changes:

  • I’m starting to see a future for myself. I don’t know yet what that means, but vague, blurry outlines are starting to appear where there was once nothing. I saw myself doomed to a life I just didn’t fit into and now I have hope and faith that this is turning around.
  • I’ve been counting small victories–my self-esteem is the highest it’s maybe ever been, I’m running longer distances (and running, period), wearing tank tops in public, not huffing and puffing walking up the stairs at my gym. AND! Most surprisingly? My feet are getting smaller. Totally weird! As a girl in size 12 shoes, this is maybe my favorite thing of all.
  • I find myself less disgusted with love 🙂 Besides a few embarrassing, barely worth mentioning brushes with the stuff, my love life has been bleak. So naturally, I’ve played it off like I want no part in it because I never saw it happening. But now that I’m finding confidence in me, I’m allowing myself to imagine a future where I love and am loved. And I’m no longer gagging at other people’s mushy displays. I find myself smiling at them.
  • I’m proud of me. And I, sadly, can’t remember the last time I felt that.

2. Water is my new BFF.

Seriously you guys? I don’t know why it works, but it does and it’s amazing. It’s become my replacement for vodka, wine, Diet Coke, and some days, even coffee. Shocking, but true.

3. A little less talk, a lot more action.

At a certain point you have to put up or shut up. Plans and lists are great, necessary even, but just start doing it. Do work, rise and grind, and all those stupid hip-hop cliches I’m not cool enough to say seriously. Put on your gym clothes and walk out the door, chug the water, eat the veggies you despise. Just do it.

4. Completely overhauling your life is hard work.

After spending 27 years forming these bad habits, it’s obviously going to take time to reform them. Not one for patience, this has been the most frustrating realization (I cannot tell you the number of times growing up that my mother told me, “patience is a virtue”). But if you trust the process, and keep working, you will see results.

5. Be fearless.

In every thing, big and small, have no fear. You’re living your life, doing what you do for you. Everyone else be damned.

Finally, THANK YOU ALL for your support! Your comments, emails, tweets, convos, advice, hugs, and willingness to bend, adapt, and listen has motivated me and brightened my day every day. I love you all!

I can’t wait to see what the next few months bring! Here’s to another 50! Bring it on!

10 thoughts on “The Big 5-0

    • Thank you, Teri! Always happy to share 🙂 Your blog has been a big inspiration to me on this journey, so thank YOU for that!

  1. Congrats on your weight loss so far and sounds like you will get to whatever weight you desire to be. I had problems with my weight and being over 50 yrs old it started concerning me with health in general. All that extra weight we haul around for years is never a good thing. I finally started a religious walking routine daily and found this resource at http://tinyurl.com/35lbs-lost-fast the best information I ever saw. If it helps you too, then it was well worth sharing cause I know how hard it was for me to lose that last 35lbs. Keep up the good work for your health and for that new found “love life” the new YOU will bring. Take care Manda, have lots of FUN on your journey, and be safe in all you do.

Leave a Reply

