The Age of Worry

John Mayer. Love or hate him, the man can write a song. On his latest album, he has a song called, “The Age of Worry,” which I have literally been listening to non-stop the past few days (well, that and my beloved Lumineers). The lyrics are quite apropos to my current situation–right now, my life is perpetually in flux. Each day brings a new challenge, surfaces a new fear which I must face and conquer. I must awake and basically give the finger to worry, anxiety, and especially fear.

I am more than alive in the age of worry, making peace with what I am.

Close your eyes and calm yourself
Build your heart an army
To defend your innocence
While you do everything wrong

Don’t be scared to walk alone
Don’t be scared to like it
There’s no time that you must be home
So sleep where your darkness falls

Alive in the age of worry
Smile in the age of worry
Go wild in the age of worry
And say, “Worry, why should I care?”

No, your fight is not within
Yours is with your timing
Dream your dreams but don’t pretend
Make friends with what you are
Give your heart then change your mind
You’re allowed to do it
Cause God knows it’s been done to you
And somehow you got through it

Alive in the age of worry
Rage in the age of worry
Sing out in the age of worry
And say, “Worry, why should I care?”

Rage in the age of worry
Act your age in the age of worry
And say,”Worry, get out of here”

Leave a Reply

