The Foodiest of Pen Pals

Yep, it’s Foodie Pen Pals reveal day again! This month, my pal was the supremely thoughtful Shri. Shri is Indian and has a blog with some fantastic recipes and gorgeous photos–seriously, gorgeous. Shri sent me a box of the most amazing assortment of Indian goodies. Being a Midwestern, German, meat and potatoes kinda gal, Indian food has never been something in my foodie wheel house. But I am always up for something new, and I’ve loved Indian food when I’ve tried it.

Not only did Shri send me so many fun and new foods, she also sent me a beautiful silver steel bowl called a kadai , a wooden bracelet, and a cute little card–can you tell I’m running out of adjectives for awesome and amazing? 🙂 The whole package was wrapped in pretty pink bags and tissue–how did she know I’m pink obsessed?
The cardamom pods are so fragrant, and I loved the Parle-G glucose biscuits! They’re like a less-sweet (and healthier!) shortbread. Shri mentioned they were her favorites as a child–they would have been mine too! Beyond that, I haven’t had much time this month to play around with all of these wonderful ingredients and devote the kind of attention to them that they deserve. But Shri mentioned a few great ideas, including a sweet dish made with the vermicelli. Vermicelli in a sweet dish? I never would have thought of it! The dish is called Semiya Payasam, meaning fudge-like sweet vermicelli–love it! I’ll definitely be trying it and posting about it here! And I’m going to be emailing Shri a lot to get some more good recipes out of her! 🙂
That’s what I love about Foodie Pen Pals. Each month you get to put together a little box of goodies that essentially says, “this is me.” You choose what parts of you, your background, your passions, to share with someone else who could very well live across the country. And then someone else does the exact same thing for you. You are both exposed to new cultures, new ways of life, and, of course, new foodie goodies.

Get in on this, guys! Here’s what to do: go to Lindsay’s blog (she’s the creative genius behind this and the Lean Green Bean Blog) and fill out this form by July 5. Then, Lindsay will email you with all the deets and you’ll be well on your way to connecting with other bloggers and readers, experiencing one of the few things we all have in common–food!

15 thoughts on “The Foodiest of Pen Pals

  1. A lovely mix of goodies. I love getting someone else’s selections and being introduced to new things. We eat a lot of Indian food as I live in quite an ethnic area and we always enjoy it.

  2. what a perfect package!! like you, i feel like the packages we send should reflect who we are – and this seems to do just that. love it!

    happy foodie pen pal reveal day!

    p.s. Keep an eye out on Wednesday – there’s a new blog hop in town and I think you’re gonna like it! All fresh foods (CSAs; farmer’s market treasures; garden hauls; & similarly related posts) welcome!

  3. Blush! blush! Thank you for the lovely post Amanda! I am so glad you liked the gifts.
    I loved the collage of snapshots you have put up. My mother sent those pink bags from India. They are used to wrap gift boxes of traditional Indian sweets. I picked up ‘pink/coral’ clues from your blog! 🙂 I was worried that I had overdone the ‘pink-ness’!
    Will email you the recipes. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

