Halfway Point: July Goals

Goals for July

1. Log 100 miles
2. Lose 10 lbs
3. Take and record my measurements
4. Develop 3 new recipes
5. Start spending more time with my friends
6. Strength train 3 days per week
7. Complete 15 2-a-days
8. Go to happy hour and enjoy responsibly
9. Log my food and exercise every day
10. Take my first yoga class

We’re halfway through July now, friends, and I’m halfway through my goals. It’s shaping up to be a great (hot!) summer! The past few weeks have been filled with their share of challenges, and also quite a few triumphs. Here’s how the month has been shaking out:

#3: With some help from both of my parents, I took my measurements this past weekend. And I measured everything. I’m excited to start seeing concrete results beyond the scale! Oh, and I haven’t yet decided how often I’ll remeasure, so if you have any suggestions for this, do let me know!

#4: So, even though I’ve yet to share them with you, I do have three delicious new recipes waiting in the wings. Actually, I have at least ten that I’ve stockpiled over the past few months–I’ve been slacking in that department! Coming at you soon: Kohlrabi Potato Gratin, Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Loaf, Shrimp Scampi, Whole Wheat Zucchini Chocolate Chip Bread,  and Ricotta Pizza, among others.

#5: I haven’t done quite as well on this as I would like, but I have made it more of a priority. I think balance is something I’m going to struggle with for awhile on this journey, but as long as I recognize that and take proactive steps to address and resolve it, I’ll consider myself successful.

#8: I went to happy hour this month and nursed one vodka soda for over three hours. And guess what? I still had a great time. Same goes for the wedding I went to this past weekend. One drink. Normally, in any type of social situation, I would need a few cocktails to make it through and overcome my anxiety of being seen in public. But I think I’m slowly getting over that. Progress, my friends!

#10: I took my first yoga class earlier this month. I went into it very anxious and nervous but also excited. I’ve wanted to try yoga for years, but always thought I was too big and too out of shape to attend a class where I’d be twisting and bending my large body–wouldn’t all my fat get in the way? Long story short, yes. Yoga was definitely a challenge as a large person. I was uncomfortable as hell in that class, and sore as hell after. I didn’t really see the appeal, but I do think I’ll go back. Maybe it’ll click after repeated exposure. And if not, it is definitely great to expose my body to a different type of active movement.

There you have it: my progress for the first half of this month! How are you doing on your goals? What have you accomplished this month? What are you struggling with? Let me know! 

6 thoughts on “Halfway Point: July Goals

  1. Mandy- I borrowed your idea of doing goals and made some for this month. I am currently exceding most of them but a few, I underestimated how hard they would be for me. You are doing greate on your goals and I am looking forward to seeing them all scratched off your list this month!

  2. Good for you on taking measurements! They are almost more fun to see improvements on than the scale (don’t get me wrong, I love to see my scale show lower numbers!) Measurements seem to take longer to see movement on… I try to do them every 5 or 6 weeks. In fact, later today I’m going to catch up on my latest ones, so fingers crossed.

    Keep up the good work – you’ve been making me chuckle when I read some of your comments (yoga for instance – I’m convinced I *won’t* try it now), and I appreciate how encouraging your experiences are for me!

    • Thanks, Nat! And thanks for the tip re: measurements! I think you SHOULD try yoga and let me know if you have the same sort of experience…I think I may still be sore 🙂

  3. As of last Wednesday here is where I am at…
    • 1000 crunches – 600 done
    •1000 penguins – 600 done
    •1000 push ups (Knees on ground) – 560 done
    •1000 squats – 625 done
    •600 BOSU ball squats – 510 done
    •60 minutes of planks – 28.8 minutes
    •12 Couch to 5k runs – 5 runs
    •Run 48 kilometers – 27.14 km
    •75 miles biked – 51.12 miles
    •10 pounds lost – 2.2 pounds
    •Write 6 more blog posts this month – including this one, 4 blog posts

Leave a Reply

