A Trio of Chocolate

It may not be the best idea, but I do like to keep a little something sweet around the house to curb any sudden cravings and, really, stop me from running over to the grocery and buying a dozen donuts.

After mentioning my mom’s amazeballs chocolate chip cookies in a recent post, a new reader/friend, Shri (my Foodie Pen Pal last month), requested the recipe. And what a good idea she gave me! I decided I’d bake up a batch, but in true Manda Kay fashion, try and strip them of their really good bits (butter, et al.) in an effort to make them deliciously healthier.

Here’s my mom’s original recipe for when you feel like a treat:

Mama Ruthie’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C brown sugar, lightly packed
1/3 C butter
1/3 C vegetable shortening
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 C flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 oz chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 375° and spray two cookie sheets with nonstick spray.
  • With a mixer, cream together the first four ingredients.
  • Add the egg and vanilla.
  • Stir in 1/2 of the flour, along with the baking soda and salt. Once combined, add the remaining flour.
  • Spoon heaping tablespoons of the dough onto the cookie sheets and bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes.
To lighten these cookies, follow the same directions, but add 2 total cups of flour instead of 1 1/2, and swap:

  • 1/3 C + 2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce for 1/3 C butter
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp shortening for 1/3 C shortening
  • 1 egg white (3 Tbsp liquid egg whites) for 1 whole egg

What you get is a fluffy, slightly chewy, totally delicious and healthier version of my Ruthie’s standard cookies. I’ve realized, though, that I need a replacement for a.p. flour–that stuff is wickedly full of calories. And with little to redeem it nutritionally…not good.

So I’ve decided to move on to whole wheat flour. In baking, most people recommend you start with equal parts all-purpose and whole wheat flour and adjust from there, since the whole wheat flour typically produces a denser product. But I think we all know that patience and adjustments are not my thing–I’m more of an “all or nothing” kind of girl, as you’ll see in the recipe below.

When I mentioned to the parentals that I was switching up Ruthie’s cookie recipe, my dad, lover of all things peanut butter and cookie-related, suggested I make peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. Voila! A new recipe is born!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C brown sugar, lightly packed
1/3 C applesauce
1/2 C peanut butter (I use Jif all-natural)
3 tbsp egg substitute
1 tsp vanilla
1 C whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 oz chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 375° and spray two cookie sheets with nonstick spray.
  • With a mixer, cream together the first four ingredients.
  • Add the egg substitute and vanilla.
  • Stir in 1/2 of the flour, along with the baking soda and salt. Once combined, add the remaining flour. Add more flour, little by little, if dough seems too wet.
  • Spoon heaping tablespoons of the dough onto the cookie sheets and bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

One thought on “A Trio of Chocolate

  1. Pingback: A Day Late… « Bec Gets Healthy

Leave a Reply

