Another Overnight Oats Recipe

If you’ve spent any amount of time on Pinterest, you’ve undoubtedly seen at least 12, 748 posts about overnight oats. If you live under a rock, or are my mother (Hi mom!), then let me tell you: overnight oats is oatmeal that you “cook” by mixing oats and some kind of liquid, then putting them in the fridge to hang out overnight. The oats absorb just enough of the liquid and soften. You know, like how oatmeal does.

Everyone has their own recipe for overnight oats, and their own favorite add-ins (the yumminess you add to flavor your oats). Well, this weekend I jumped on the bandwagon and made my own version of the blogger favorite. I have to admit that I’ve had my hesitations–wouldn’t the oats get soggy? Wouldn’t I end up with a watery mess? In short, no and no. The end result was a deliciously creamy,  extremely filling, slightly chewy breakfast concoction.

I started with a nut butter jar at the end of it’s life cycle. If you’re like me, your nut butter obsession is out of control and you literally scrape the sides of the jar to gather every last bit of the stuff. So rather than recycling my empty-ish jar, I used it as the vessel for my oats.  Then I added Quaker quick oats (which work surprisingly well for being instant oats), a little plain Chobani (another obsession), almond milk, and a dash of salt and sugar. I popped those bad boys in the fridge and went to bed dreaming of nut butter and oats frolicking together in a meadow. They were very happy.

The next morning, I was delighted to see how thick and creamy my oats were. Just like real oatmeal! Who would have guessed? To play up the nut butter flavor, I added a heaping tablespoon of chunky nut butter. And what goes better with nut butter than banana? Nothing, that’s what. So half a sliced banana went in as well. And then it was time to dive in.

I was so stuffed by the time I reached the bottom of the jar! Shortly after, and, very surprisingly, without my morning coffee, I headed out for a hike down by the river near my house. I had so much energy, you guys! Are overnight oats a miracle superfood? I think they just might be.

Overnight Oats

Ingredients:
1/3 C oats (can use rolled, instant, or steel cut)
1/2 C milk (use your milk of choice–I prefer Silk almond)
1/2 C plain yogurt (again, use your favorite–I prefer Chobani plain greek yogurt)
1 tsp sugar
Dash of salt
Your favorite add-ins

  • In an empty, not rinsed out nut butter jar, or another jar of your choosing, add everything but your mix-ins. Stir to combine. You may want to add more or less milk, depending on the consistency you prefer.
  • Cover the jar and place it in the fridge overnight. This seems obvious, given the name of the recipe.
  • These oats are eaten cold, but you could sit them out on the counter for a few minutes, or pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds to take the chill out.
  • There are an endless possibility of add-ins you could add in: cinnamon and chunks of apple, berries or any kind of fruit, nuts, nut butter, banana, cereal or granola, pumpkin puree, applesauce, etc. Play around, have fun, and try different combinations!

4 thoughts on “Another Overnight Oats Recipe

Leave a Reply

