Herbalicious

Like any other self-respecting Midwesterner, especially those with a strong German heritage, I love a potato. Mash it, fry it, bake it, roast it–I’ll take it however I can get it. This summer, thanks to the amazing local farmer’s markets, I’ve become slightly obsessed with baby red potatoes.
I’m also slightly obsessed with figuring out ways to use up the herbs in my herb garden, before your friendly neighborhood bunnies get to them. Who knew they had a taste for fresh oregano? Maybe the bunnies are off in their little bunny homes making a fresh red sauce for their Sunday pasta supper?

I normally would boil and mash these little potato nuggets up with butter, milk, and lots of salt and pepper. But we all know that kind of creamy goodness is not an option in my life these days.

Instead, I’ve started roasting them. Chop up a few potatoes and a bunch of fresh herbage, toss both with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and a few cloves of garlic. Pretty soon, you’ll have this…

The best part of these potatoes? They are small enough that, thanks to the olive oil, the outside gets so nice and crispy, while the inside stays warm and moist. So. Good.Want to make them even better? I know, I know, how’s that possible, right? Well, try serving them up with a few other summery Midwestern classics: corn on the cob and a caprese brat, both also from your local farmer’s market.
Make this un-recipe now, thank me later. Or, better yet, just bring me some potatoes and ketchup.

Herb Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients
A few baby red potatoes
Some olive oil
Herbs of your choosing (I used a handful each of parsley, oregano, chives, sage, and thyme. You can use dried herbs, you’ll just need a bit more.)
Couple cloves of garlic, smashed (I used six)
Generous sprinkling of salt & pepper

  • Quarter the potatoes and chop the herbs.
  • On a baking sheet, toss the potatoes and herbs with salt, pepper, and enough olive oil to coat.
  • Place in the oven and roast at 425° for about 35-45 minutes, or until fork-tender.

2 thoughts on “Herbalicious

Leave a Reply

