I’ll Race You

A gorgeous, crisp, fall day. My momma, my auntie, and my fave cousin. A few Limp Bizkit tunes (no, seriously). Ann Bancroft. 25 porta potties. Free nanners and Muscle Milk! 2,700 women running the Cities.

This was my first 5K race. 

It could have been better, it could have been a lot worse. But it could not have been more fun or more inspiring. I felt light on my feet, I ran and walked (14:24 pace), I passed and was passed. I  high-fived and heard so many words of encouragement from my family and complete strangers. I felt like an athlete again, and I realized just how much I’ve missed that–how much I’ve missed feeling strong and powerful. So, ok, I’m in. I’m hooked–I’m a runner!

6 thoughts on “I’ll Race You

Leave a Reply

