Sammiches

As I stood, bleary eyed, basking in the cool air of my refridgerator on a recent warm late-September morning, trying to decide what to pack for breakfast, I had two thoughts:

1. If my dad were here, he would tell me to, “shut that door, you’re wasting electricity.” He says this every time the fridge door opens, without fail. And it’s hilarious. Sometimes (most times) I leave it open just to get a good chuckle at his (and mother nature’s) expense.

2. I really wish ice cream was an acceptable breakfast item. I so wanted to grab the Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich beckoning to me seductively from the freezer door. But alas, ice cream for breakfast is akin to booze before 5pm: help yourself, but prepare for judgement.

But, you guys, I think I’ve solved my problem. While day drinkin’ and  ice cream at 7:30am are big fat no-no’s, eating delicious greek yogurt, frozen to a thicky and creamy consistency and happily sandwiched between two delightfully chewy, peanut buttery, oatmeal cookies, at 7:30am is thought to be a (mostly) healthful decision. Hello! Healthy fats, complex carbs, and major protein? I feel like I seriously pulled the wool over someone’s eyes here with these fro’mazing sammies.

You know how sometimes people will be all, “oh, carrot fries are a great substitute for real french fries! I can’t taste the difference!” And you’re all, “No way, dude. You’re a dummy. Baked carrot is in no way equal to deep-fried potato.” Well, I’ve gotta say: these froyo sandwiches are an ah-mah-zing substitute for ice cream sandwiches. It’s true. Maybe even better than the real thing. And lest you need another reminder, they are totally acceptable to eat for breakfast. In fact, I’d recommend you do just that. Because then you won’t feel so guilty about wolfing down a few french fries, or another frozen yogurt sammich, later in the day. I know I won’t.

Obviously, the possibilities are endless with these little buddies. The fine folks at Chobani were kind enough to send me some of their delish ‘gurt (have I mentioned how much I love these people and the yogurt they’re slinging?). So I did what I do best: got in the kitchen and started experimenting.

To satisfy my unsatisfiable PB & J jones, I first made peanut butter cookies with strawberry filling. Then, using the same un-recipe for the filling (i.e. hungry) and did a classic chocolate chip cookie with a creamy vanilla middle. And then it was on to pumpkin cookies with an amazing apple cinnamon middle (that recipe is coming later this week!). I’m dying to try sugar cookies with a pineapple Cho filling, for a pineapple upside-down cake type thang.
I think you get the picture: if you can dream it, you can gobble it up–Cookie Monster-style.

Peanut Butter and Strawberry Froyo Sandwiches
Makes 8 sandwiches

For the cookies: follow this recipe

For the filling:
6 ounces strawberry Chobani greek yogurt (or if making a different kind of sandwich, substitute an equal amount of the flavor of your choice
2 tbsp. fat-free whipped topping

  • Mix and bake the cookies, allowing them to cool to room temperature.
  • Meanwhile, stir to combine the Chobani and whipped topping.
  • Once the cookies have cooled, slather a dollop of the yogurt mixture on the bottom of one of the cookies. Top it with another cookie and press down slightly. Repeat this process until you have eight sandwiches.
  • Place the sandwiches on a baking sheet and place in the freezer for at least one hour or overnight.
  • These sandwiches can be wrapped and stored in the freezer for up to two weeks. But if you’re like me, they won’t last that long!

What what would be your favorite combination? Tell me about it…so I can go make it!

4 thoughts on “Sammiches

Leave a Reply

