Blah, Blah, Blah…And Snow!

Are you guys sick of me talking about why I’ve been neglecting the blog? Blah, blah, work, blah, blah, promise to recommit, blah. No, but seriously. I’ve been busy! Mostly with work, but also with fun things. Like everything Christmasy and wintery! I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve watched Love Actually over the past few weeks. But I can give you an approximation. Let’s go with 10. And P.S.? It snowed, like, 12 inches today. Seriously. I’ve got the pics to prove it below.
846a6fb9-7e44-4462-8134-8c20051d9e7a 2I’ve been spending more time with friends, too. Which is a very much necessary thing. To be honest with you, the healthy thing has been taking a beating in my daily life. My motivation is lacking, simply because I’ve stopped seeing any sort of progress–on the scale or otherwise. I’m angry about it, I’m frustrated, but I’m also sick of thinking and talking about it.
Photo 5

So I’ve been focusing all my energy on work, where I recently got a promotion (because I’m awesome, obviously). These days, work makes me happy. It satisfies and enriches my life in ways that I’m definitely not used to. And since every other part of my life forces me to face my current weight-loss struggles, I’m focusing on what I can control at the moment and what will keep me from going insane over this. I know I need to get back to eating on schedule and working out hard core, and I will.
Photo 14We all know that a huge part of being successful in losing weight is meal preparation–having healthy options easily at hand for meals. Another huge part of the process is switching up your food every once in awhile. If you don’t, you’ll get bored with your chicken breast and reach for, oh, I don’t know, a Chicken McNugget meal at McDonald’s. That’s what I’ve heard can happen, anyway.

Boredom is entirely how this recipe came to be. I had a large bunch of asparagus taking up space in the fridge, but I’m so tired of blanching, boiling, roasting, et al.  A quick Google search of “what else can I do with this dang asparagus?” turned up this recipe for asparagus pesto. Genius, right?!

I’m typically a big fan of pesto. As with most things, I’ll eat it, but I don’t seek it out in my every day life–unlike how one may seek out a Chicken McNugget meal at McDonald’s. But this recipe–well, my take on this recipe–is so freaking good, you guys. And it couldn’t be easier.
Photo 10Asparagus Pesto
Makes about 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients
1 lb asparagus, trimmed and cut into bite-size pieces
2 large cloves garlic
4 Tbsp olive oil
3/4  C Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper

  • In a large pot of salted, boiling water, blanch the asparagus piece for 6-8 minutes, or until tender.
  • Drain the asparagus, reserving some of the cooking water. Let cool.
  • In the bowl of a food processor or blender, combine the asparagus, garlic, cheese, 3 Tbsp of the oil, and a dash of salt and pepper.
  • Pulse to combine, stopping to scrape the sides down as necessary. As the mixture comes together, slowly add the remaining oil and, if needed to thing the mixture, some of the cooking water.
  • Serve with your boring fish, chicken, or spaghetti squash to shake things up a bit! Or do what I did and get after it with a spoon. Your call.

I’m looking forward to sharing more “back on track” kind of posts with you guys very, very soon!

Leave a Reply

