Resolve

Here it is! Your obligatory yet lovingly and soberly composed New Year’s post! Let me start by saying that, as someone who’s spent the majority of their life overweight and is also highly self-critical/analytical, I’m a sucker for fresh starts, clean slates, second chances, resolutions, Mondays, and new years.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve spent a good deal of time taking stock of my 2012: what I learned, where I failed and succeeded, what I want to do differently in the new year, and what goals I want to accomplish. I feel like 2012 was been my practice year, my twelve-month warm-up. 2013, in very technical sports speak, is the Big Show. It is my regular season where I work towards the playoffs and, eventually, the Super Bowl (my weight loss goal, for those who are metaphorically challenged). For the most part, I know what worked and what didn’t, where and why I was and was not successful. But more than anything, I know the fire inside in me to succeed, to keep going, is stronger than ever. I want that championship ring, dammit!
Photo 1

Here are the big picture ambitions I have for 2013:

Love
Above all else, I want to practice love. For myself, for all situations and circumstances, for friends and family, for complete strangers. A big part of my success this past year has been shedding the negativity and cynicism that have ruled my life for so long. I want to continue to develop this practice, to make myself more and more open and vulnerable to all that surrounds me. Be present in the moment. Care for the relationships in my life, cultivate new ones. I want to go on a date, focus on living my own life, let go of residual guilt and anger, travel. Live in kindness, gratitude, and love.
ranunculus-in-a-vase-5-x-5-romantic-fine

Weight
Obviously, I want to continue to lose weight. This past year, I lost 65 pounds and have mostly maintained that weight. But I have so far to go. In 2013, I want to lose an additional 100 pounds. Ambitious and aggressive, but the jiggle is there still, so…

My cousin shared a yearlong plan someone had put together where they gave up one unhealthy food item each month. I adapted this idea to my own life, planning to give up one trigger food each month. I’m intrigued to see if I have the willpower to do it, and I’m also interested to see how my body reacts month-to-month. I’ll be tracking my progress using an app on my phone, and sharing updates on the blog and on my Twitter. Here are the twelve items I’ll be giving up throughout 2013:
Monthly

Fitness
I have two main fitness goals for 2013: 1) become more of an athlete, and 2) build consistency. The biggest hindrance to my progress in 2012 was a lack of consistency. I’d go through spurts of working out, then when I didn’t get my results, I’d slack off for a week…or two months.

To resolve that, I’ve set some specific challenges for myself that will hopefully help build consistency, and make me more of an athlete. Because I don’t want to continue with my same old, half-assed elliptical workouts. I don’t want to end up skinny fat. I want to be able to kick some serious ass. So, in 2013 I want to…

  • Run an entire 5K
  • Participate in at least five races
  • Look into the possibility of doing a 10K
  • Get a trainer
  • Begin a swimming program
  • Take up a new summer and winter sport
  • Explore the possibility of doing a triathlon in 2014

I also have big plans for this blog in 2013. Namely, a redesign done ASAP (any takers?), along with lots more posts. Because, as my mother keeps pointing out, blogging helps keep me accountable and allows me to share my thoughts—get them out of my overanalyzing brain and onto virtual paper. And of course I want to do things like read more, spend more time doing the arty things I love (playing music, painting), travel, get a tattoo, etc. But these are the main areas I want to focus in the coming months, because they have the most overarching impact on my life.

So that’s my big plan for 2013. I do intend to continue menu and workout planning, setting smaller goals and challenges each month (sharing them on the blog, of course), and tracking my food and exercise on My Fitness Pal. All of these things served me well in 2012. I hope you’ll stick around and see how it all plays out. Your support, encouragement, and advice over the past twelve months has been invaluable. I am so grateful to each and every one of you—I could not have done this without you and I hope I can inspire you even more in the coming months. Because I’m not stopping until I finish making this little life of mine.

What are your resolutions for 2013? Set some, share them with me, then let’s get after it! 

4 thoughts on “Resolve

  1. Happy New Year to you. This post is very inspiring and I wish you the very best of luck in achieving all your goals (though I have every faith you will!). You really are an inspiration and should be so proud of what you have achieved so far and the courage it takes to write posts like these 🙂

    • Thank you SO much! Maybe it’s the whole new year thing, but I’m finally feeling motivated again–I’m ready to kick some butt! 🙂 Happy New Year to you, too!

Leave a Reply

