Balsamic Turkey Meatballs

Not much has changed over here—I’m still a bit of an emotional hot mess. A little less of a hot mess, but a mess I am nonetheless 🙂

When Im feeling a little raw around the edges, one of the things that helps keep me physically on track is indulging in my favorite comfort foods–once I’ve made them over into healthier options, of course. When I’m stressed or bummed out, a giant salad is just not going to cut it. If I go that route, history has shown time and time again that I’ll be shoveling the Ben & Jerry’s into my face in a matter of minutes. So tricking myself with delish secretly good-for-me food is the way to go.

On that note, let me tell you: I love a good a meatball. Slather it in a gravy or red sauce, slap it on a hoagie bun or pop ‘em on a pile of pasta and I’m a happy girl.

Healthy? No way. But swap the ground beef for turkey, sauté some mushrooms and onions with balsamic vinegar, bake them instead of fry, and you’ve got the makings for a revamped, slimmed down meatball that you can toss in just about anything. Like a giant salad.
Photo 5Photo 7

See? Compromise. It makes the world go ‘round.

Balsamic Turkey Meatball
Makes approx. 2 dozen meatballs

Ingredients:
½ Tbsp olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
4 oz. mushrooms, chopped
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 20 oz. package of extra lean ground turkey
1 large egg
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper
dash of chili powder

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Add olive oil to a pan and heat over medium heat. Add onion and saute until onions are softened and translucent.
  • Add the mushrooms and cook for 3-4 minutes. Stir in balsamic vinegar and let the mixture cook until the vinegar is mostly absorbed. Remove from heat and let cool.
  • Meanwhile, mix ground turkey, egg, and spices in a large bowl. Add the cooled onion, mushrooms, and balsamic mixture and mix to combine.
  • Begin to form the mixture into balls—it will be very wet, so I wouldn’t recommend attempting to roll them into balls. Form the balls gently with your fingers, then place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Bake for about 30 minutes and then eat up!

Leave a Reply

