Eat Your Veggies!

Carbs are my weakness. Above any and everything else, I love carbs. Bread. Oh my god, I love bread. And cake and cookies. Potatoes? In every form, yes.
blurry

For some reason, I’ve always thought of cauliflower as a high-carb vegetable. It looks starchy and the white color is misleading, in my opinion. But it’s not. One cup of cauliflower has only about three grams of carbs and 25 calories. That stinky veggie has got some great stats!

Similar to when I discovered overnight oats, a lot of bloggers have been posting their recipes for cauliflower pizza crust—a super low-carb substitute for the carb-heavy, gluteny, flour-based real deal.
crust
3
3 angleI’ve got to say: this stuff is legit. After several misfires, including a burned bowl of cauliflower and a crust I couldn’t get off the tinfoil, I perfected the perfect alternative pizza crust.
burnAnd the real test? I got my dad to eat it. And he even enjoyed it! Right, Dad?

Dad

Oh, and Mama Ruthie helped me perfect the recipe. Really, though, she just stood around, looking pretty…
Mom use

Now I’m intrigued to try all the other vegetable-based alternatives to some of my favorite carby dishes: cauliflower mash and rice, pumpkin brownies, almond flour in my breads. Gotta sneak those yucky vegetables into my diet any way I can!

Complex carbohydrates, I’m gonna try real hard to quit you once and for all, you delicious devil.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust
Makes 3 crusts

Ingredients:
1 head of cauliflower
2 large eggs
1/2 C grated parmesan cheese (reduced-fat, if you can find it!)
1 tsp basil
1 clove garlic, minced or 1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried oregano

Directions:

  • Remove cauliflower florets from the stem, chop into small-ish pieces. Toss cauliflower into food processor and pulse until it’s the consistency of rice.
  • Cook cauliflower in a large bowl in the microwave for approx. 8 minutes. To ensure it doesn’t burn, stir it every few minutes.
  • Once cooked, let cool for several minutes. Stir in remaining ingredients and scoop on to baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  • Shape into a crust and bake for 10-12 minutes at 375° until crust is lightly browned.
  • Top with your favorite pizza toppings, making sure they’re all pre-cooked since the pizza won’t be in the oven long. Return the pizza to the oven and cook for 3-4 additional minutes.

2 thoughts on “Eat Your Veggies!

Leave a Reply

