Peanut Butter Granola

My nut butter love affair is well documented, from breakfast to desert . I have serious boundary issues with the stuff. Whenever my nutrition stats are a bit low, I reach for the jar. When I’m menu planning, you better believe that peanut butter factors into each day. I am constantly reminding myself that I already had my daily serving and that no, I can’t have more.
nuts

All of which makes this new recipe I’ve put together highly problematic.
20130324_155445bake

That would be peanut butter granola. With almonds, honey, and a bit of cinnamon and vanilla.
end

An amazing snack all on it’s own, it’s even better mixed in to a cup of banana Chobani greek yogurt. Peanut butter and banana? It’s okay. Give in to the addiction.

image

Peanut Butter Granola
Makes approx. eight ¼ cup servings

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp peanut butter
2 Tbsp honey
1 C oats
¼ C (approx. 20) raw almonds, finely chopped
1 tsp vanilla
dash of cinnamon

Directions:

  • In a medium bowl, combine peanut butter and honey. Microwave for approximately 20 seconds, until peanut butter is melted.
  • Add remaining ingredients and stir to combine.
  • Dump mixture onto baking sheet covered in parchment paper or sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Spread into a flat, even layer and bake at 325° for about 10 minutes, until browned. Watch closely, as it tends to brown quickly.

Leave a Reply

