This Year > Last Year

It’s amazing the difference twelve short months can make. Just 365 little days…
IMG_20130424_123726

Last May, I was about 40 pounds heavier and a bunch of inches thicker. I was four pant sizes and two-three (depending on the store) shirt sizes bigger. I couldn’t dream of shopping in “normal” stores, save for the maternity section or the occasional tunic or dress that I fashioned into a form-fitting shirt (Yes, really. I did both).
20120815_174956

Last May I was uncomfortable wearing t-shirts and wouldn’t dream of wearing tank tops. No one wants to see all that flab flapping around. When I did finally start to wear tank tops, it was the biggest deal. I remember calling my mom as I stood at the big box hardware store wearing a sleeveless dress. I was nearly in tears I was so proud…and so terrifyingly self-conscious.
IMG_20120410_185801

Last May I didn’t leave the house without my hair and make up done, my outfit acceptably perfect. Why give the world another reason to judge me? I may be The Fat Girl but I would never dream of being The Ugly Fat Girl.

Last May I struggled to run for 30 seconds. I stuck mostly to the elliptical at the gym, because I was afraid of how unattractive and out of shape I’d look trying something new. I didn’t make eye contact and I stayed in the back row of my darkened spin class—the only group class I would attempt.
20130422_161453

But now?

This May, I’m still stuck in a seemingly never-ending weight loss plateau, but I’ve lost over 60 pounds in about a year, I’ve tightened and toned my body to the point where I sometimes like what I see in the mirror. I haven’t given up. I regularly shop at normal stores in mostly normal sizes. Sometimes, I even need to grab a smaller size.
20120702_180203

This May, I cry in dressing rooms because I can’t believe I fit in the size 14 shirt not because I have to grab the 3X.

This May, I’ve run a 5K race, with a goal of doing five more this year (three are on the calendar!). I’ve gotten my heavy body up on a paddleboard…while wearing a swimsuit. I’ve taken (and love!) a boot camp and a weights class—where I’m constantly uncomfortable and pushed to my physical and self-esteem limits.
20120923_082217

This May, I rarely wear makeup when I’m not at work or going out socially. I’ve stopped caring what I look like in the best possible way: I still want to look cute, obviously, but I no longer spend an hour getting ready to go to Target on a Saturday afternoon.
20120818_084955

This May, I wear t-shirts. And tank tops. And dresses that show off (most) of my legs.
20120714_132145
20130506_160351

This May, I explore the world around me. I try new things. I put myself out there socially (something, I admit, I’m just starting to feel out). I’m less afraid of others, less afraid of myself.
IMG_20130507_121706 20130427_094733

This May, I’ve mostly made peace with myself. As is, right now. Fat and all. The scale doesn’t define me, your opinion of me, and what fat girls should and should not do, doesn’t define me. I define me. And I like me. I’m proud of me.

This May, I can’t wait to see who I am next May.

4 thoughts on “This Year > Last Year

  1. You know, I don’t know you (outside of your blog), but I feel like I do. I am old enough to be your Mom, yes I have kids who are 22 and 24 so I really am 🙂 ….I just want you to know you are wise beyond your years and you should be so very proud of yourself and the LADY you are. I know I am proud of you…reading this brought tears to my eyes, not only for you but for many of these things apply to me too. I just wish I had learned them so many years ago, I feel sure it would have helped with years of pain and feelings of hopelessness. I have NO doubt that you will accomplish all you set out to in this life ….celebrate each and every step!

  2. Seriously words do not suffice…you have absolutely been the best role model in this life changing adventure♡For that and being an inspiration I say thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

