Yoga Challenge: Day 4

Today was just one of those off days. Boring, long, full of a certain fun set of hormonal emotions and nasty cravings. All this even though I was up at 5am for some cardio (treadmill speed intervals and the stair master, thank you). Blergh! I was counting down the minutes to yoga class all damn day.
image
My challenge cohort wasn’t feeling well, so I ended up heading to class alone. Today was an interactive and hot beginner level class. The instructor was super friendly and explained that this class was meant to walk you through the basic mechanics of the poses practiced in future classes.

There were only seven of us in the class, so we got plenty of individual attention. It also meant that I couldn’t hide in the back row, as I typically do. I had to face myself in the mirror. And boy, that was incredibly uncomfortable. I think the self-awareness threw me a bit, so it’s definitely something I need to continue to work on!

I loved learning the details of these poses I’ve now been practicing for a few months. I moved deeper and more confidently into them…I even practiced the challenging (to me, anyway) crow pose!

I have always had a strong aversion to being touched (um, body image issues, hello), but this teacher was very hands on with everyone. Not so much correcting poses, but rubbing, pressing,massaging. I got a head and neck massage at one point, she laid on my feet to keep them down during one pose, and pressed on my lower back for a solid minute (Ah! Fat rolls! Sweat!)…and I didn’t freak out. Victory!
image
I’ve said it before, but I’m really loving yoga right now. I cannot get enough. Case in point: I’ve got back-to-back classes scheduled tomorrow!

Tomorrow: Intermediate Hot Power Yoga

Leave a Reply

