Lessons Learned

For the first time in a long time, I feel like I’m back on track. I’m making good choices, three days binge-free, working out everyday and making water, sleep, and me-time a priority.

I’ve always been someone who over-analyzes everything, so it should come as no surprise, then, that the last three, small days have taught me three huge lessons. For example…

1. If you don’t use it, you’ll lose it. I stopped exercising for maybe a month and I feel like I’m back at square one. Sure, I’ve run two 5K’s in that month, but wow. I’m out of shape! I went for a bike ride tonight and eight miles felt like 80. I don’t know how I did 26 miles easily just a few months ago. However, I did bike up a hill near my house that I’ve never made it up before. So, that’s something 🙂 No matter how small, add some form of movement to your day, every day. Don’t stop.
20131007_1739582. Sometimes a workout is your best form of therapy. I’ve been easing back into workouts this week, focusing not on going faster or pushing harder, but on simply appreciating the movement–appreciating the moment and my body’s ability. We’re in the middle of a streak of beautiful, warm fall days, so Monday I went for a five mile hike. Tonight, I went for a leisurely bike ride, with plenty of pit stops to consciously and purposely acknowledge the sunshine, the warm breeze, the quickly changing leaves.
IMG_20131007_21023520131007_171843IMG_20131007_205606Tuesday I got back to my beloved yoga practice. It was incredibly uncomfortable (especially since my new boyfriend, Mr. Hot and Ripped Yogi, plopped his mat down right  next to me in the mostly empty gym). But I went, and my newly re-inflated chest got in the way, and I noticed the struggle I felt in every pose, and I silently sobbed on my mat during shavasana…but I honored myself by going. And that felt awesome.

By the way, I’ve noticed that I yoga is highly emotional for me–I cry more on that pink rubber mat than I do at any other time in my waking life. Exercise is therapeutic, friends. Try it.

IMG_20131009_0709363. When you pay attention, even amongst the bleakest of circumstances, you’ll see love and beauty all around. My mom doesn’t usually call me…mostly because I call her so frequently that she doesn’t need to 🙂 But amidst her own hectic life, she’s made the effort to call me everyday this week to check-in because she knows I’ve been in a rough spot lately. It’s pretty awesome to know you’re loved like that.

Also awesome? Minnesota. I firmly believe that I live in one of the most beautiful states (and cities, for that matter), anywhere. Minnesota in the fall? You really can’t beat it. To have this sort of natural wonder right outside my door, and to get to enjoy it with all my inspiring, active Minny neighbors? Awesome.

IMG_20131007_20595320131009_18030920131007_170801Onward and upward, one day at a time, don’t stop ’til you get enough, keep on keeping on…all that good stuff. I got this.

Leave a Reply

